Merging Projects


#1

Import Options Menu

Starting from the Home page or ‘Your Translation Projects’ list window:

  1. Click on the 3-dot icon at the bottom left of the window.
  2. Choose Import Options from the menu.
  3. Choose import to import a project file.
  4. Wait for the import to happen.

If there is the same project already in the local program you will receive a warning message that states:
Project Already Exists

There is also this additional information: This project already exists locally. How would you like to proceed?

There are three choices to choose from:

Cancel

  • Clicking on the ‘Cancel’ button closes the message.
  • The ‘Your Translation Projects’ window shows.

Merge Projects

  • The importing process will continue.
  • When the message that the import is complete shows, click the ‘Close’ link.
  • Open the project.
  • If the imported translation has recent changes, they will now show in the text.

Overwrite Project

  • Warning : Choosing to overwrite the project will remove all information on the computer related to the previous local project.
    • We recommend that you do not choose this option if you have previously uploaded the project to Door43.
  • If you run into difficulty you can always contact help@door43.org for help or submit a ticket using the “Open a Ticket” link above.

Merge Conflicts

Occasionally, there may be differences between the information in the program and the information that is in the imported project. This is known as a conflict . When this happens, there will be this message:

Import Complete
There is also this additional information: Your project has been successfully imported. There are 2 chunks that contain new conflicts that need your attention.

Resolve the differences by following these steps:

  • Click on the word ‘Close’ to close the message window.
  • Open the project.
  • Observe that there is a triangle icon in the left column. Click on the triangle icon to view only the chunks with a conflict.
    • The text that was in the translation before the import is in a green box.
    • The text that is new is in the blue box.
    • Choose the text that has the preferred translation by clicking on that box.
    • Confirm by clicking on the orange ‘Confirm’ button. Click on Cancel to not choose the text.
    • The other text will disappear.
  • Repeat all the above steps until all the conflicts have been resolved (the desired translations have been chosen.)

NOTE : resolve all conflicts before doing another export or import of the project.